Pink
eye. It’s the bane of the daycare existence. Or is that lice? I can
never remember. At any rate, PoppaGeek and I are slowly learning the
rules (unwritten and otherwise) of Daycare. They call me for at least
three things: fever, being bitten by another child, and pink eye. We’ve
gotten two of those calls in one week. The first day of daycare one week
last fall, we got the first call: little Geeklet had been injured at
the center. She was ok, but had been bitten by another child. I’m quite
sure that it’s relatively normal behavior for this age group (1 to 2
year-olds), and somewhere in the back of my mind I knew it would happen
eventually. Still...hearing something along the lines of: “it broke the
skin but didn’t bleed” it slightly nerve-wracking! The very next day, we
got another call: Geeklet needs to be picked up because they suspect
pink eye. PoppaGeek (who is actually a superhero) picked her up and got
her to the doctor to confirm the diagnosis.
And
here comes the hard part. For the next 5 days, we needed to get 2 drops
of medicine in her eye *three* times each day. /sigh. We have had some
interesting times already in her short two years of life, and after all
that, I completely understand the need for baby antibiotics to come with
a flavor. Trying to get amoxicillan, augmenten, and other oral
antibiotics into a tiny body are difficult, to say the least.
Please
know that I am exceedingly happy, thankful, blessed to have a healthy,
happy little girl! The good news: she made it through the Great Pink Eye
Fiasco of 2011 just fine. :-)
No comments:
Post a Comment